On being fuzzy…


Whenever I get a cold, I always think about the scene from You’ve Got Mail when Joe visits Kathleen at her apartment and she has a really bad cold.  At the end of that scene, she says “everything’s getting fuzzy…” and lies down on her bed while Joe talks to her about her favorite flowers, daisies. Such a sweet scene. (If that doesn’t make any sense to you, I am even loopier than I thought or you just haven’t watched that movie as many times as I have. Sorry for you.)

Paul Jones passed away last night. Although I didn’t know him very well, he was a very nice old man, who loved the people in the art department (more affectionately known as the A-team) and made a lasting impression on my department at the university. If you weren’t aware, he’s the man who donated a multi-million dollar collection of African-American art to the university. I would be more poignant, but I can’t think very clearly because of the suddenness of this and my coldy-cold.

Leave a Reply

